San Diego State well-represented in Mountain West awards

San Diego State well-represented in Mountain West awards

Pumphrey is second in the nation in rushing with 1,908 yards and fourth in the league in rushing touchdowns with 15.

The Mountain West announced its first- and second-team all-conference selections, along with its postseason awards. San Diego State swept all three major awards: Senior running back Donnel Pumphrey is the Offensive Player of the Year, senior cornerback Damontae Kazee is the Defensive Player of the Year and junior kick returner Rashaad Penny is the Special Teams Player of the Year.

Lotulelei also had 3½ sacks, three pass breakups and one forced fumble this season, creating the turnover that led to UNLV's game-winning field goal in its 41-38 win October 15 at Hawaii.

McNichols leads the country in total touchdowns (27), is second in the nation in rushing touchdowns (23) and leads the Mountain West in all-purpose yards (2,185). He is third on the league in rushing at 1,663, just 11 yard behind Hill's 1,674. His rushing total is now No. 3 in a single season in Boise State history. In six games against common opponents (Colorado State, Wyoming, Utah State, UNLV, San Jose State and Hawaii), McNichols outrushed Pumphrey 1,009-740.

Boise State did land six players on the first-team: quarterback Brett Rypien, wide receiver Thomas Sperbeck, offensive linemen Travis Averill and Mario Yakoo, and defensive linemen Sam McCaskill and David Moa.

Against five common foes, McNichols slightly outrushed Hill, 697-645, and both had 10 total touchdowns, though McNichols had 171 receiving yards to Hills 5 in those games. That McNichols made an all-conference team is of no surprise.

It's the second consecutive year on the first team for Rypien and Sperbeck. Yakoo was honorable mention past year.

Wyoming linebacker Logan Wilson was named Freshman of the Year, and Cowboys coach Craig Bohl claimed Coach of the Year honors.