MLB Season to Open March 29

MLB Season to Open March 29

The change was made to create more off days.

The 2018 season will mark the first under the new scheduling format agreed to as part of the 2017-2021 Basic Agreement between MLB and the Major League Baseball Players Association (MLBPA). The 2018 season will mark the first time since 1968 that every MLB team will open on the same date.

A person with knowledge of the offer told The Canadian Press late Thursday the City of Montreal offered to host the upcoming three-game series between the New York Yankees and Tampa Bay Rays.

Thankfully, MLB changed its approach for the 2018 schedule, which will feature a full slate of 15 games on the first official day of the season. In recent years we've seen a Sunday night opener for ESPN and, before that, we'd see a lot of split openers, with roughly half of the teams beginning on one day, half the next.

Sismo de magnitud de 8 grados sacude sureste de México
Al cierre de esta edición, no se habían reportado en estos países centroamericanos muertos o daños por el terremoto . Tres horas después del sismo , Enrique Peña Nieto brindó un primer reporte completo de daños, alcances y detalles.

There are a handful of divisional matchups on Opening Day, including a potentially feisty Giants-Dodgers game in Los Angeles. All 30 clubs are scheduled to play on March 29. In the past, both the Wednesday and Thursday following the All-Star Game have been dark, with the full schedule resuming on Friday.

Only one game - the St. Louis Cardinals at the Chicago Cubs - will be played on the Thursday after the All-Star Game, which will be held in Washington on Tuesday, July 17. Francisco Lindor of Cleveland and Eddie Rosario of Minnesota will be among big names returning to their homeland for that series.

On April 17 - exactly 50 years after their inaugural game at the Oakland Coliseum - the A's year-long anniversary celebration continues with a 7:05 p.m. PT game against the White Sox that is completely free for all fans.

With 15 teams in each league, Interleague Play will take place throughout the entire regular season for the sixth straight year. Each club will also play 20 Interleague games (10 home/10 road). Game times for the 2018 schedule, as well as the 2018 Spring Training schedule, will be announced at a later date.